New novel alert!

Today’s my birthday. I’m fifty years old. Now let’s move on, on to my novel Button Down, which goes on sale Dec. 23 but is currently available for pre-order at Dreamspinner Press. We mustn’t overlook that. The first 20 paperbacks sold will be autographed. Nice, huh? The cover art for Button Down was done by Maria Fanning. Thank you, Maria. And thank you to all the editors who helped make this a book I’m very proud of, so proud, in fact, that I’d like to share and offer a free ebook copy to one lucky person commenting on this post. Leave a comment below between today and December 9, and I’ll draw a name at random and e-mail you the ebook when it becomes available later this month.

In preparing for my third novel’s release, I’ve put together a blog tour spread out over this month and next. There’ll be excerpts, more giveaways, and me sharing my observations about creating these characters and my writing process in general. I hope my readers enjoy Ford and Gus’s story. I know I enjoyed writing it.

BDblogWhen he finds himself captivated by a movie-star handsome stranger he meets in a bar, lawyer Ford Reilly watches a simple one-night stand develop into a taste of what living honestly might bring him.

Out and proud Gus Hansen has built a small architectural firm from nothing, but could lose it all as he tries to break a contract he signed before knowing about the project’s antigay ties.

After Ford discovers he spent a passionate night with the man on the other side of the dispute he’s handling, he finds himself in more than one quandary. He can either maintain the status quo, enforcing the contract to the letter, or he can defy his overbearing father and break free of the closeted life he’s built for himself in order to be with Gus.

Gus has his own choices to make. He knows the sting of loving a man who hides himself, but the longer he lingers in Ford’s presence, the more difficult it becomes to deny their attraction.

Now, how about a short excerpt? Here’s the set-up: Out at a bar with friends for karaoke night, Gus has just caught the eye of the handsome Kenneth, but as they’re chatting and getting their flirt on, a tipsy and somewhat clumsy stranger stumbles between them and spills his drink on Kenneth, who reacts with fury and racist tendencies, which makes him all kinds of unattractive to Gus.

*****

The door opened again, admitting a large, muscular man, who rushed up to the bartender. “Sorry I’m late, Teddy. Car trouble.” He deposited his jacket behind the bar.

“No worries, Chuck,” Teddy said, nodding toward Kenneth, Gus, and their intoxicated mystery guest. “Not yet.”

Chuck nodded, ran his hands through his long, wavy blond hair, and took a deep breath, his chest expanding to staggering proportions within his tight black T-shirt as he strode up to the little group. “Is there a problem, gentlemen?”

“This drunken… jackass spilled his drink all over me,” Kenneth informed him.

“It was an accident,” Clumsy Stranger explained as he rubbed his upper, right arm gingerly. “I apologized.”

Gus reached out and gently gripped the man’s shoulder. “Are you hurt?” he asked, surreptitiously feeling the muscle through the slate-blue, cashmere pullover.

“I’m fine, thanks,” the young man said, hesitantly rolling his shoulder. Gus removed his hand, but concern remained on his face. The guy shook his head. “It’s a previous injury.”

Gus studied the man’s flawless brown complexion, his full, beautiful lips, and smiled outright when he caught sight of the large, almost amber-brown eyes beneath a strong brow. Unconsciously imagining how they might physically fit together, Gus judged the man to be a few inches shorter than him. His gaze traveled down Clumsy Stranger’s slender, fit body, ending at his shoes.

“Look,” Gus said, pointing down, “your lace is untied. Must have tripped over it.” He dropped from sight and had it tied before the man could even register where he’d gone.

“Th-thanks,” the man said as Gus slowly rose back up in front of him… so closely, their noses almost touched. He stepped back a bit to refocus on the man’s beautiful face. They smiled nervously at each other. Dimples, Gus sighed internally.

Chuck glanced at each of them in turn. “Right.” He pointed at the interloper. “You keep your shoes tied and switch to coffee.” He turned to Kenneth. “You have a seat at the bar and cool off. Have one on the house.”

Kenneth hesitated. “But, Gus—”

“It’s not happening,” Gus said, never taking his eyes off his new acquaintance. Glowering, Kenneth turned and stalked back to his former seat at the bar to order his free drink.

“You okay, man?” Lin asked, suddenly at Gus’s side.

“Uh, yep. I’m good.” He turned to the young man. “You want to get a table?”

“Sure.” The man smiled again, and Gus felt his tummy flip. “I’d like that.”

*****

Ah, intriguing! At least I hope your interest is piqued.

It’s been a chaotic trip collecting everything I need for my first blog tour, but many of my fellow authors have held my hand along the way, giving me the benefit of their experiences. So thank you very much, all of you.

My tour schedule is as follows:

Also in there is a January 4 Facebook chat for Dreamspinner Press.

See? Busy, busy.

Now for the giveaways. At two of my tour appearances I’ll be giving away an autographed print copy of my novel Button Down, but I’m not telling ahead of time which guest posts they’ll be. You’ll just have to check out all of them and look for giveaway instructions. Be sure to leave a comment beneath the designated posts to be entered in the giveaway. Leave your e-mail address too, or, if you don’t want to do that, drop me a line at KimsWritingAgain@yahoo.com and tell me which comment or comments were yours. Winners will be chosen and notified no later than one week after the initial post.

Remember, the contact info is important. I need to be able to identify and find you. A big thank-you to the two blog hosts who have agreed to handle those giveaways.

Much love, and good luck everyone!

3 responses to “New novel alert!

  1. Happy Birthday! Looking forward to your tour! Hugs!

  2. Happy Birthday, Dawn! The book looks great and I wish you all the best on your tour.

  3. Congratulations on winning the ebook copy, Sophie!

Leave a Reply

